Othello Technology Systems Ltd Community Discussion Forum

Go Back   Othello Technology Systems Ltd Community Discussion Forum > The Bar > General Chat / Off Topic

General Chat / Off Topic A place for all the conversations that wouldn't fit any other structured category. Pop in, pull up a chair, relax and get to know your fellow forum members. Talk about pretty much anything here, hobbies, families, cars, lego ... but play nice !

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th April 2010   #1
Roger
Senior Member


 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Durham City, England
Posts: 287
Roger is an unknown quantity at this point
Wink "Intellectual Property" scam

Within the past week two customers have received remarkably similar emails from Asian companies which say that they have received an application to register a domain name which is the same as the main part of your domain name (eg, in the case of our hosting company it would be othellotech). They may mention trademark and anti-cybersquatting issues. They ask you to get in touch quickly or they will go ahead and register this domain name which is similar to yours.

This is a scam and you can safely ignore these emails should you receive one. That's the short version. There is more information here.

Roger
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010   #2
othelloRob
Manager



 
othelloRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 11,362
othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of othelloRob has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to othelloRob
Default

It's a recurring and common scam to get you to buy expensive domain registrations from them. Our advice *never* contact or buy anything from spammers
__________________
Rob Golding, Othello Technology Systems Ltd
tel: UK 0871 277 6875 fax: UK 0871 277 6875 skype: othellotech web: www.OthelloTech.net
online support at http://www.hostassist.co.uk . chat live with a sales rep at http://www.hostassist.co.uk/chatlive/
othelloRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Othello "No Frills Internet" ValueColo service closes... and Othello::Colo opens othelloRob Company Announcements 0 18th January 2007 21:25


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2009 Othello Technology Systems Ltd